Washing Your Luxury For Princess & Bellami Hair Extensions

Hey Ladies!

So the time has come where your extensions have a sticky, humid texture and you need wash them. I have my own technique that works extremely well and keeps the quality of your extensions in tact! Here are my tips and tricks, hopefully they work for you as well as they work for me!

 

Step #1: COMB OUT YOUR WEAVE!

If you skip this step, you might as well shred your extensions into the nearest garbage disposal! This step is imperative because washing hair with tangles in them is the biggest mistake you can make! You want to make sure you start with silky smooth hair before we put it into the water. This allows for a smoother washing process.  I use a widetooth comb or a paddle brush, because it detangles without pulling hairs out of the track.

Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 12.39.35 PM.png

 

Step 2: Washing the Extensions

To was my extensions I use the Brazilian Keratin Therapy Shampoo. Shampoo’s are of a preference because there are so many different types. theres Sulfate Free, For dry hair, or for oily hair, and now they even have a gluten free shampoo. I don’t like the complications between all of the choices, so for me as long as its sulfate free and has keratin, i’m good to go.

Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 12.53.35 PM

 

When you are washing your extensions, you want to make sure all the strands are going in the right direction. So many times, women will ball the hair up, which messes with the track pattern the hair is laid in. To achieve the best results, make sure you smooth the shampoo in the hair going with the grain. When trying to clean the hair, move it side to side, rather than going against the grain. This process can affect the rest of the washing process including drying the hair.

Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 12.52.45 PM

Step 3: Condition

Yayy my favorite part of the washing process; CONDITIONING! I love conditioning my extensions because they are so smooth and silky! Plus you can use loads and loads of it and never hurt your hair. The Conditioner I use is by Pantene. I don’t get too detailed by what conditioner I use because to me its all the same. You use it to bring life back into the hair and allow it to “bounce back”. The methods I use to condition are the same as how I shampoo. Don’t go against the grain, and don’t ball it all up. Once I thoroughly rinse the hair with conditioner, I make sure to comb out the extensions. Doing this ensures the proper smoothing texture we all want our hair in. Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 12.55.08 PM

Step 4: Drying the Extensions

Ahhh, the final step! The methods I use to dry my extensions solidifies the entire process. I first leave the conditioner in the hair and lay a towel over it. Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 1.02.10 PM

Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 1.02.29 PM

Once this is done I blow dry the extensions with the towel covering the hair. This allows for the conditioner to set into the hair without delivering direct heat. You want to make sure that you don’t use the blowdryer on the hair raw because it could cause the extensions to become brittle, and lack luster.

The Last thing I do is rinse the conditioner out of the hair and let the hair air dry on a towel, like the picture below.

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 2.01.06 PM

Once the hair is all dry- which takes about 8-10 hours- you will have lushish clean hair!

Below is a video link on the entire process, if you all want to have a better understanding.

Remember to Stay Chic. Stay Fabulous. Stay Fierce.

 

Click Here For A Full Video of How I Wash My Hair

 

 

Leave a Reply

